Anatomy of the Spine

Top Washington D.C., Maryland, and Northern Virginia Orthopedic Surgeons Specializing in Anatomy of the Spine

The spinal column is the body's main support structure. Its thirty-three bones, called vertebrae, are divided into five regions: cervical, thoracic, lumbar, sacral and coccygeal.

How is the spine organized?

This detailed video describes the anatomy of the spine, including its cervical region, thoracic region, lumbar region, sacral region, coccygeal region, vertebrae, vertebral body, vertebral canal, spinal cord, nerve roots, pedicles, lamina, spinous process, transverse processes, articular facet, and intervertebral disc.